Because of His Mercy

5he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, 6whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior,

Titus 3: 5-6

During my freshman year of college I began having severe abdominal pains and losing blood. After a battery of tests the doctor let me know that I had ulcerative colitis. The disease would cause me to have a few good days and many painful and weakening bad days for the next 10 years. The disease began to show signs of becoming cancer and my doctor alerted me to the need of surgery to stop the cancer growth before it spread. Within the next few months, I had the surgery to remove the damaged colon and reconstructive surgery to provide similar functions to give me a normal digestive tract. A few months later, I began to regain my strength and was restored to living a life without the pain of colitis and free of the cancer that had began to grow in my body.

I had an illness that was going to kill me much like the disease of sin that was poised to destroy my life. The Great Physician had the antedote to cure the sin problem but it would have a very high pricetag. Then the Maker of the cure decided to provide the cure at His own expense. I simply had to accept this offer.

You can experience this as well by admitting to God that you are a sinner, that you believe that He sent His Son Jesus to die on the cross to pay the penalty of your sin was buried and rose to life 3 days later and then confess Him as your Lord. Rebirth, renewal are yours by following the simple plan that He designed for us to live with Him throughout eternity. You won’t earn this salvation but can receive it for free directly from God himself. Do not wait another minute.

Leave a comment